Programming Journal

12.05.2021, WEDNESDAY, 20:17

Trying to install Ubuntu on my old laptop...not really programming haha but it counts I guess!

16.05.2021, SUNDAY, 17:03

Did something in Java. It's called ObsessBot. :-)

17.05.2021, MONDAY, 08:51

Good morning! I'm still working on ObsessBot...and I thought that I should share what I have so far.

    import java.util.Scanner;
/* ObsessBot is an open-source chatbot-esque program
 that focuses a lot on the concept of obsession.
 This is just like ObsessBot ALPHA, but written in Java
 as opposed to Python.
 Feel free to take the code and make your own chatbot-esque
 program about anything you want as long as you don't make money off of it
 under your name. Meaning, don't sell anything you make with my code.
 Do not make a program others have to pay for using my code.
 Made with love by layer01 on Neocities. That's me. <3
 Note: I haven't made ObsessBot ALPHA available online.
 Note 2: I'm a beginner in Java. There will be mistakes in the code.
 Feel free to fix them while writing your own program. */
public class ObsessBot {
		public static void main(String[] args) throws InterruptedException {
			@SuppressWarnings("resource")
			Scanner keyboard = new Scanner(System.in);
		    System.out.println("Welcome to ObsessBot v. 0.0.1, I am currently under development."); // prints out text
		    System.out.println("Please enter your name. ");
		    String name = keyboard.nextLine(); // type in your name
		    if (name.equals("insertnamehere")) { // if name = [something else], print out something else
		    	System.out.println("different text or something i don't know");
		    } else { // otherwise, print out the same line for all other names
		    	System.out.println("Hello, " + name + "!"); // this'll print out your name! in the sentence!
		    }
		    System.out.println("I am so glad that you chose me...of all other bots...");
		    Thread.sleep(1000); // pause before printing next line
		    System.out.println("...");
		    Thread.sleep(2000); // take a longer pause
		    System.out.println("Never mind that.");
		    Thread.sleep(500);
		    System.out.println("S...so, uh, " + name + "...w-what would you like to do?");
		    // add if statement here or smth...i don't know i'm not a programmer
		  }
}

    

05.09.2021, SUNDAY, 05:41

Been a while, huh...I haven't been able to work on any new projects. I've been thinking, maybe I should create my own Linux distribution! I realise that Ubuntu isn't much to work with, and I've been introduced to many wonderful Linux distros over the past month or so, so I've been looking into Arch. However, now that I think about it, it might be too advanced for me to work with considering I'm not too well versed in that kind of stuff. Maybe Linux from Scratch? Ha, ha! But maybe OpenSUSE would be okay? Surely, the possibilities are endless. My only limits are my imagination, the amount of Linux distros out there, and Linus Torvalds.

Go back home?